Skip to main content

ClubCensus

Free Club Membership Software: What Free Plans Really Include

Open notebook and printed pages beside a coffee cup on a desk, window view of a green playing field
Free Club Membership Software: What Free Plans Really Include

“Free” rarely means zero trade-offs. Some platforms fund free tiers with advertising, transaction fees, or tight email caps. Others offer a permanent free workspace with clear numeric limits. This page spells out what you actually get — in AUD where published — so committees can budget honestly.

Three free models you will see

Ad-funded team apps: no subscription, optional ad removal, great for communication, light governance.

Freemium CRM: free Starter tier with limits on apps or emails; Pro unlocks volume.

Free software + payment fees: no monthly invoice until you process money through the vendor.

Free tier limits compared

Table checked 4 November 2026 from each vendor’s public pages. Not listed = not stated on the pages we checked on 4 November 2026. A competitor may still offer it elsewhere. ClubCensus prices match /pricing (no GST line). Member Jungle and some vendors quote prices excluding GST where noted on their site. Competitor details may change after 4 November 2026 — confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy.

Free or $0 tiers — November 2026 public pages

Monthly subscription

ClubCensus
A$0
TidyHQ Starter
$0 AUD
Spond Club
$0 software fee
Stack Team App
$0 mandatory fees

Member / contact caps

ClubCensus
100 members, 3 admins
TidyHQ Starter
Unlimited contacts
Spond Club
Not listed as member cap on overview
Stack Team App
Not listed

Outbound / bulk email

ClubCensus
Up to 100 members, 3 admins, 20 Bill questions/month, 500 MB storage; bulk Communications hub from Starter (auth emails never blocked)
TidyHQ Starter
100 outbound emails / month (pricing page)
Spond Club
Not listed as separate cap on overview
Stack Team App
Not listed

Meetings / minutes

ClubCensus
Basic meetings hub; notes-only minutes; locked workflow on Professional+
TidyHQ Starter
Meetings app: try free — counts as 1 of 2 Starter apps (Meetings page)
Spond Club
Not listed
Stack Team App
Not listed

Bill / secretary assistant

ClubCensus
20 Bill questions / month; no minutes drafting on Free
TidyHQ Starter
Not listed
Spond Club
Not listed
Stack Team App
Not listed

Cost when you collect money

ClubCensus
Stripe fees only; no ClubCensus platform fee stated
TidyHQ Starter
3% + A$0.20 TidyHQ service fee + Stripe
Spond Club
2.5% + A$0.30 per transaction (AU help article)
Stack Team App
Store / Team Payments fees if used

Ads

ClubCensus
No ads in club workspace
TidyHQ Starter
Not stated on pricing
Spond Club
Not stated
Stack Team App
Ad-supported

True cost example: collecting A$10,000 in member fees

Suppose 100 members each pay A$100 in subs through your platform in a month — A$10,000 gross. Software can be “free” while payments still carry processor fees (and sometimes a vendor service fee on top).

On ClubCensus Free, member checkout uses Stripe. Stripe’s Australian pricing page (checked 4 November 2026) lists 1.65% + A$0.30 for domestic cards online (fees include GST) — on 100 payments of A$100 that is 1.65% of A$10,000 (A$165) plus 100 × A$0.30 (A$30) ≈ A$195, if every payment were a domestic card (real totals vary with card type, Amex, and chargebacks).

On TidyHQ Starter, the pricing page adds a 3% + A$0.20 TidyHQ service fee on TidyHQ-processed payments, with Stripe charged separately. On 100 payments of A$100 that is A$300 + A$20 = A$320 to TidyHQ, plus about A$195 to Stripe at the rate above, so roughly A$515 in total.

On Spond Club, the AU help article quotes 2.5% + A$0.30 per transaction when you collect through Spond — on 100 payments of A$100 that is A$250 + A$30 = A$280.

None of this replaces your bookkeeper’s view of GST, refunds, or bank charges — it shows why “free software” and “free to operate” are different questions.

Related: Stripe pricing (Australia)

When to upgrade from Free

Upgrade triggers: more than 100 active members, more than three admins, duty rosters or facility bookings, or a board that needs packs and locked minutes on Professional.

ClubCensus Starter (A$49/mo) raises caps and unlocks bulk email, bookings and duty rosters; Professional (A$199/mo) is the usual step when the board portal becomes essential.

Related: Pricing; Best club software 2026

Sources

Competitor and official references checked on 4 November 2026 unless noted. Vendor details may change.

FAQ

Is ClubCensus Free really free?
Yes — no card required to start. Limits apply (100 members, 3 admins, 20 Bill questions/month, 500 MB storage). Bulk email via the Communications hub starts on Starter; Free includes other platform email within the monthly cap. Paid tiers raise caps and add board tooling.
Get started